Is the title for my presentation important?

I made my first call to book myself for a speaking engagement at a Berkeley Rotary Club and the program director asked for the title of my presentation. “Title?” I repeated. I hadn’t thought of a title. Was it important? Would they not book me if they didn’t like the title? How about “Mixing It Up!” I stammered.

“Fine, that will do just fine!” he assured me.

As I heaved a sigh of relief, I thought “okay, so I can do this!”

The title(s) you choose tell your program director what to expect. They should be short, from three to five words; have an impact; use well known concepts when possible (example: SOS Strategy Outweighs Scarcity or Incubators Are Not for Chickens); utilize action words or results words.

You want to make sure your presentation is tied to your expertise and will in no manner be considered an infomercial. It’s hard to imagine, yet only 3% of your presentation is content. The balance consist of you using your personality.

Leave a comment